Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Laura Bailey wins Best Performance at 2020 Game Awards

Laura Bailey won Best Performance for her role as “Abby” in The Last of Us Part II Thursday at the first-ever virtual 2020 Game Awards. The award was presented by Brie Larson.

Courtesy of the Game Awards

Bailey beat out Ashley Johnson, who played Ellie in The Last of Us Part II, Daisuke Tsuji as Jin Sakai from Ghosts of Tsushima, Logan Cunningham as Hades in Hades, and Nadji Jeter as Miles Morales from Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales. The Best Performance Award is given to the most deserving individual for voice-over acting, motion and/or performance capture.

This marks Bailey’s first time winning the award. Additionally, this is also developer Naughty Dog’s first time winning this award

The Last of Us Part II was first released on June 19, 2020 for the PlayStation 4. Upon initial release, it was met with critical acclaim by reviewers. However, it was extremely divisive among players, especially with the introduction of Abby as a character. 

Meanwhile, Naughty Dog has continued to rack up awards. This year marks the fourth time the developer has won an award at the Game Awards, with Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End and The Last of Us Part II winning in previous years. 

Starting in 2014, the Game Awards have seen an exponential growth over the past seven years. After initially having 1.9 million viewers during the first broadcast, 2019 saw that number increase to almost 50 million viewers.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

You'll also like