Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The Last of Us Part II has won the Innovation in Accessibility Award

The Last of Us Part II has won the Innovation in Accessibility award on Thursday at the first-ever virtual 2020 Game Awards in Los Angeles. Former Nintendo chief operating officer Reggie Fils-Aime presented the award.

Last of Us
Photo courtesy of Naughty Dog

The Last of Us Part II, developed by Naughty Dog, beat out Ubisoft’s Assassin’s Creed Valhalla and Watch Dogs Legion, Obsidian’s Grounded, and Tribe Games’ TribeDot. The Innovation in Accessibility Award focuses on recognizing software and/or hardware that is pushing video games forward by adding features, technology and content so that games can be played and enjoyed by an even wider audience. 

This marks the second time that The Last of Us Part II has won an award in the 2020 Game Awards. Earlier in the night, Laura Bailey won Best Performance in her role as Abby, opposite Troy Baker’s “Joel” and Ashley Johnson’s “Ellie.” 

When The Last of Us Part II was first released on June 19, 2020 for the PlayStation 4, it featured a multitude of accessibility features, with various features focusing on the visual, auditory and motor aspects of the game. This allowed players that may be hard of hearing, have little to no vision, and those with physical or mobility disabilities to enjoy the game as well.

Overall, this is Naughty Dogs’ fifth time winning an award at the Game Awards. Previously, Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End took home two awards in 2016, winning Best Narrative and Best Performance. 

Starting in 2014, the Game Awards have seen an exponential growth over the past seven years. After initially having 1.9 million viewers during the first broadcast, 2019 saw the number increase to almost 50 million viewers.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

You'll also like