Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The Last of Us Part II Wins Best Game Direction at The Game Awards

The Last of Us Part II won Best Game Direction Thursday at the first-ever virtual 2020 Game Awards in Los Angeles. Keanu Reeves presented the award. 

The Last of Us
Courtesy of Naughty Dog

The Last of Us Part II, developed by Naughty Dog, beat out the Final Fantasy VII Remake, Ghosts of Tsushima, Hades, and Half-Life: Alyx to take home the award. To win the Best Game Direction award, recipients had to have outstanding creative vision and innovation in game direction and design. 

This marks the third time The Last of Us Part II has won an award at the 2020 Game Awards. The game previously won the Innovation in Accessibility and Best Performance awards earlier in the night. 

The Last of Us Part II was first released on June 19, 2020 for the PlayStation 4. Neil Druckmann, the director of The Last of Us Part II, accepted the award. Druckmann has been a fixture in Naughty Dog games, overlooking the Uncharted series as well. 

Additionally, this is Naughty Dog’s sixth award at the Game Awards, with Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End winning twice in 2016 and now The Last of Us Part II winning a total of four in the past few years.

Starting in 2014, the Game Awards have seen an exponential growth over the past seven years. After initially having 1.9 million viewers during the first broadcast, 2019 saw the number increase to almost 50 million viewers.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

You'll also like