Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The Last of Us Part II Wins Game of the Year with Near Sweep of The Game Awards

The Last of Us Part II has won Game of the Year on Thursday at the first-ever virtual 2020 Video Game Awards. 

The Last of Us Part II
Photo Courtesy of Naughty Dog

The Last of Us Part II, developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony Entertainment, beat out some incredible games including Animal Crossing: New Horizon, Hades, and Ghost of Tsuschima to take home the biggest prize of the night. 

This marks a near complete sweep of the game awards for The Last of Us Part II, winning seven of the eleven awards including Best Game Direction, Best Performance (Laura Bailey won this award for her portrayal of Abby) and Best Action/Adventure Game. This is a follow-up to the massive success of The Last of Us in 2013.

The Last of Us Part II was first released on June 22, 2020 for the Playstation 4. The game received immense praise from game developers, publishers and critics alike. 

Outside of The Last of Us, Naughty Dog is known for their work with games such as Crash Bandicoot and Uncharted. Tonight’s win adds to the accolades that the company has earned over the last decade. 

The Game Awards was broadcast live on numerous streaming platforms, such as Twitch, Youtube, and Facebook Live.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

You'll also like